Tuesday, March 5, 2013
Winsor Plantations Ruins
Smith C. Daniell, II, a wealthy cotton planter, owned over 21,000 acres of plantation land in Mississippi and Louisiana. He completed his Greek Revival 4 story mansion with Italianate and Gothic influences in 1861. Surrounding the house were twenty-nine columns of molded red brick and plaster built 30 feet high, which set on paneled stiles. Massive cast iron Corinthian capitals were placed atop each column with elaborately scrolled balustrades. Eight chimneys broke the roofline, drawing smoke from 25 fireplaces with imported marble mantels. Rainwater stored in large tanks in the attic supplied 2 bathrooms.
Central halls divided 23 rooms that included three 19” by 20” rooms on each side of the hallways of the main floors. The full ground basement contained storage rooms, a diary, commissary, doctors office, and a schoolroom. The two residential floors had double parlors, a library, the master suite (consisting of a bedroom, study, and bath), and many bedrooms. A three-story wing on the rear provided kitchen, pantry space, and a dining room. On top of the house was an observatory. From this, Mr. Daniell could see his entire Mississippi plantation and much of his land across the river in Louisiana.
The mansion survived the Civil War, but was destroyed by accidental fire in February 1890. All photographs and drawing of the mansion were lost in the fire. Lt. Henry Otis Dwight, a union soldier in Major General Ulysses S. Grant’s army, drew the shown sketch in 1863.
These standing columns stand as a monument to the disappearance of the Old South. These massive columns are breath-taking to see and very impressive.
Location: Port Gibson, Mississippi- ruins are located 12 miles southwest of Port Gibson on Hwy 552.
Posted by Palmer at 4:09 PM